Whatever

Sense of Smell

You’ve probably heard that you shouldn’t take your sense of smell for granted. I stand behind that. Because of a weird cold I’ve had for a couple of weeks I have had no sense of smell for the last week and no sense of taste. It’s very strange. We put off our valentine’s dinner so that I will actually be able to enjoy it. It has made me pay attention to textures while eating. For example, we had Omaha steakburgers for dinner the other night. I couldn’t taste them, but I certainly appreciated the very tender, almost melt in your mouth texture. On the other hand Cheesy Pepper Soup was unbearable because of the weird little bits of onions and peppers in the creamy base. I don’t usually have a problem with lumps in my food unless that’s not balanced but good flavor I guess.

I was happy this morning when I could get a slight whiff of soap. Must be coming back little by little. I sure hope so.

1 thought on “Sense of Smell”

  1. The whole texture thing is why I cannot abide fruit in my Jell-O.

    I was happy this morning when I could get a slight whiff of soap.

    Mmm… soap…

Comments are closed.